Hancock County Health Department Health Department Description/Information

Purpose

The Hancock County Health Department is responsible for disease control and the physical and environmental health of County residents. The Department is directed by an 11-member Board of Health that is appointed by the County Board to three-year staggered terms. The Board of Health approves a spending plan and submits to the County Board for appropriation consideration. This Department is supported through the Health Fund property tax levy, charges for services, and a variety of federal and state grants.

Mission

To promote the health of our community.

Vicion

A healthy, safe and informed community through collaborative partnerships.

Board of Health Members

Edward Owen President

Monica Crim Vice President

Andrew Asbury
County Board Liaison

Andy Bastert Treasurer

Melissa Pence Secretary

Karen Andrews, ATTY; Karen Beeler; Zachary Rodeffer, DDS, and L. Joe Smith, MD; Michael Ottney, DO